Chorley Building Society

Northern League
Reader Cricket Balls

3D Sports

Christmas and New Year message

De Wet and Ferguson make mark on international stage

Kendal CC 23Dec09 (courtesy Richard Edmondson)

Kendal CC 23Dec09 (courtesy Richard Edmondson)

On behalf of the Executive Committee of the League I would like to take this opportunity to wish the players, supporters, members, sponsors and friends of the Northern Premier Cricket League every best wish for Christmas and the New Year.

The League enjoyed a successful season in 2009 and is delighted that its two main sponsors, Furness Building Society and Readers Cricket Balls will continue their sponsorship in 2010.

The League will be known as The Furness Building Society Northern Premier Cricket League (in association with Readers Cricket Balls).

In 2010 the league cup competition will have a new title and for both divisions will be known as the Readers Cup.

The popular Twenty20 competition has a new sponsor in the shape of Adlington based accountancy firm Latham Baxendale and will be known as the Latham Baxendale Twenty20 Cup.

The Castle Awards will again reward the top amateur performers in Division One while Scratching Shed Publishing, the firm behind the new-look League Handbook (to be launched in January 2010) will sponsor the top amateur players in Division Two.

Scratching Shed will also sponsor the Dream Teams for Divisions One and Division Two in 2010, being selected from the best players in each league.

The League was delighted that former Chorley professional Friedel de Wet made such a successful Test debut for South Africa against England. De Wet, Chorley's pro in 2008, is one of five former Northern League professionals in the South Africa Test squad alongside Jacques Kallis, Paul Harris, Ashwell Prince and Mark Boucher.

Friedel de Wet went from Chorley into the South Africa Test team

Netherfield's record-breaking 2008 professional Callum Ferguson also forced his way into the Australia One Day International team until sadly suffering from a knee injury in the autumn and best wishes go to Callum in his recuperation.

Callum Ferguson went from Netherfield into the Australia ODI team

Exciting 2010 season ahead

The 2009 season was dominated by St Annes, who won their third title in five years under Andy Kellett's astute leadership.
St Annes had arguably the best three players in the League in top batsman Atiq Uz-Zaman, top bowler Dinuka Hettiarachchi (who will be returning as pro in 2010) and leading wicket-keeper Duncan Whalley.

Preston finished as worthy runners-up and lifted the Twenty20 Cup after a highly successful finals day at Netherfield CC. Bilal Asad will be returning as pro and Adam Parker will captain Preston in 2010.

Netherfield won the League Cup.

Lancaster were Division Two champions and Leyland won the Division Two Cup.

Lancashire Colts join the League in 2010 in an exciting development that will be closely watched. And after a week of wintry weather we all look forward to sunnier climes and the start of another season next Spring.

The League website recorded new levels of 'hits' and John Kettlestring's archive site (www.northerncricketleague.org) was equally popular, proving that interest in the League as it approaches its 60th season in 2011 remains as high as ever.

   Click Here to send your comments.